Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Player of the Year Oscar Tshiebwe returns to Kentucky

Oscar Tshiebwe, who won all of college basketball’s major National Player of the Year awards, is returning to Kentucky next season.

Tshiebwe made the announcement on Wednesday in his first comments about his status since the Wildcats lost in the first round of the NCAA Tournament to #15 seed Saint Peter’s.

Since 1977, only two other underclassmen to sweep the awards have returned to their college teams the following season: Virginia’s Ralph Sampson in 1982 and North Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough in 2008.

Tshiebwe, a 6-foot-9 junior forward, made his announcement on ESPN’s SportsCenter and said he is returning to school, in part, to improve his draft position. He also has a sour taste from Kentucky’s early exit from March Madness.

“That’s not how I wanted it to end,” he said. “It’s the best motivation.”

Tshiebwe was projected as a second-round pick in some mock drafts.

Because he is from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tshiebwe hasn’t been eligible to capitalize on NIL endorsement deals. But rules for foreign students are expected to change before the start of next season, so he could work on his game and delay a move to the NBA that would be fueled by finances.

“I want to be a lottery pick, but I’m not there yet,” Tshiebwe said on ESPN.

Tshiebwe led the nation in rebounding (15.1 per game) and averaged 17.4 points in 34 starts. He also led college basketball with 515 total rebounds and shot 60.6 percent from the field for the Wildcats.

He joined Anthony Davis (2011-12) as the only AP Player of the Year winners in Kentucky’s illustrious history.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PlayAction Podcast

PlayAction Pods

PlayAction Pods

@TheColbyD from The College Basketball Experience to give out their first four picks aka college basketball best bets for Tuesday, March 14th, 2023, and...

PlayAction Pods

The Golf Gambling Podcast gives out their favorite picks and predictions for the 2023 Genesis Invitational


Geoff Fienberg & Andy Lack are back to give their PGA Tour picks and Golf Bets for the 2023 Genesis Invitational!


Who will be named Super Bowl MVP? Jalen Hurts and Patrick Mahomes are favorites for a reason.

PlayAction Pods

The SGPN guys continue their 57 prop bets for Super Bowl 57 with prop bets for the Kansas City Chiefs

PlayAction Pods

The SGPN guys continue their 57 prop bets for Super Bowl 57 with prop bets for the Philadelphia Eagles.

PlayAction Pods

From coin toss to national anthem to halftime to Gatorade color and more, the SGPN got you covered