Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Oscar Tshiebwe, Walker Kessler win Naismith awards

Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe added to his trophy case Sunday, winning the Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year award.

It is the fifth major trophy won by Tshiebwe, who already has been named the nation’s best player by The Sporting News, the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the Associated Press and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

The winner of the Wooden Award, the final trophy of the season, will be announced Tuesday.

Tshiebwe, a 6-foot-9 junior, averaged a double-double on the season, leading the team with 17.4 points and the nation with 15.1 rebounds per game. He is the first Division I player to average at least 15 points and 15 rebounds since 1979-80, when Drake’s Lewis Lloyd and Alcorn State’s Larry Smith accomplished the feat.

Also Sunday, Auburn sophomore center Walker Kessler was named the Naismith Men’s Defensive Player of the Year.

The 7-foot-1 Kessler averaged 11.4 points, 8.1 rebounds and 1.1 steals per game in the 2021-22 season. He led the Southeastern Conference in blocked shots and was #2 in the nation with 4.6 per game.

Tshiebwe joins Anthony Davis (2012) as the only Kentucky players to win the prestigious trophy. Kessler is the first Auburn men’s basketball player to win a Naismith Award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PlayAction Podcast

PlayAction Pods

PlayAction Pods

@TheColbyD from The College Basketball Experience to give out their first four picks aka college basketball best bets for Tuesday, March 14th, 2023, and...

PlayAction Pods

The Golf Gambling Podcast gives out their favorite picks and predictions for the 2023 Genesis Invitational


Geoff Fienberg & Andy Lack are back to give their PGA Tour picks and Golf Bets for the 2023 Genesis Invitational!


Who will be named Super Bowl MVP? Jalen Hurts and Patrick Mahomes are favorites for a reason.

PlayAction Pods

The SGPN guys continue their 57 prop bets for Super Bowl 57 with prop bets for the Kansas City Chiefs

PlayAction Pods

The SGPN guys continue their 57 prop bets for Super Bowl 57 with prop bets for the Philadelphia Eagles.

PlayAction Pods

From coin toss to national anthem to halftime to Gatorade color and more, the SGPN got you covered