Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe named Wooden Award winner

Kentucky forward Oscar Tshiebwe was named the winner of the John R. Wooden Award on Tuesday as the nation’s top basketball player.

Tshiebwe beat out Ochai Agbaji of national champion Kansas, Johnny Davis of Wisconsin, Iowa’s Keegan Murray and Drew Timme of Gonzaga.

Tshiebwe led the nation in rebounding (15.1) and averaged 17.4 points in 34 starts. He also led the nation with 515 total rebounds, the most rebounds in a season since 1973.

Tshiebwe and Aliyah Boston, the women’s Wooden Award winner, will be presented their awards Friday at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Tshiebwe is the second Kentucky player to win the award, joining Anthony Davis in 2012.

Tshiebwe and the other finalists also were named to the 10-player Wooden All-American team. Also named to the squad were Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn, Gonzaga’s Chet Holmgren, Purdue’s Jaden Ivey, Arizona’s Bennedict Mathurin and Auburn’s Jabari Smith.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PlayAction Podcast

PlayAction Pods


The @GamblingPodcast guys give out their favorite NFL super wild card prop bets.

PlayAction Pods

The @GamblingPodcast guys give out all their NFL predictions for Super Wild Card Weekend in their NFL Picks Super Wild Card Weekend part 2...