Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Commanders coach Ron Rivera wins Halas Award

Washington head coach Ron Rivera was named the winner of the 2022 George Halas Award by the Professional Football Writers of America on Monday.

The award is given to an NFL player, coach or staff member who has succeeded following adversity. Rivera battled squamous cell carcinoma during the 2020 season, then led the Commanders to the playoffs that season.

Rivera is the 54th winner of the Halas Award and the second in as many years from the Washington franchise. Former quarterback Alex Smith won in 2021 following his return to football after a devastating leg injury put his career in jeopardy.

Other 2022 nominees for the Halas Award were quarterback Joe Burrow, defensive end Maxx Crosby, Philadelphia Eagles tackle Lane Johnson and quarterback Dak Prescott.

Rivera also was a finalist in 2021.

He was diagnosed with the cancer in his neck in August 2020 in the midst of his first training camp as Washington's coach. He underwent treatment over seven weeks of the season, including IV treatments during halftime of games, but never missed a game on the sidelines. He was declared cancer-free in January 2021.

Washington finished the 2021 season with a 7-10 mark.

Rivera, 60, has a 90-82-1 record in 11 seasons coaching the (2011-19) and Washington. He led the Panthers to Super Bowl 50 following the 2015 season, where they lost to Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos.

The award is named for Halas, who won 324 games and six NFL titles in 40 seasons as coach of the Chicago Bears.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PlayAction Podcast

PlayAction Pods

PlayAction Pods

@TheColbyD from The College Basketball Experience to give out their first four picks aka college basketball best bets for Tuesday, March 14th, 2023, and...

PlayAction Pods

The Golf Gambling Podcast gives out their favorite picks and predictions for the 2023 Genesis Invitational


Geoff Fienberg & Andy Lack are back to give their PGA Tour picks and Golf Bets for the 2023 Genesis Invitational!


Who will be named Super Bowl MVP? Jalen Hurts and Patrick Mahomes are favorites for a reason.

PlayAction Pods

The SGPN guys continue their 57 prop bets for Super Bowl 57 with prop bets for the Kansas City Chiefs

PlayAction Pods

The SGPN guys continue their 57 prop bets for Super Bowl 57 with prop bets for the Philadelphia Eagles.

PlayAction Pods

From coin toss to national anthem to halftime to Gatorade color and more, the SGPN got you covered